Home › › How To Get Driver’s License in Nigeria — 10 Classes of Licence
Nigerian Drivers’ Licence – See How To Apply, Get and Renew Driving Licence in Nigeria.

The Nigeria driver’s license is a legal document issued by the Federal Government in order to confer the right to drive to its citizens and residents. It is officially issued by the Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC).
In February 1988, the Federal Government created the Federal Road Safety Commission through Decree No. 45 of the 1988 as amended by Decree 35 of 1992 referred to in the statute books as the FRSC Act cap 141 Laws of the Federation of Nigeria (LFN). Passed by the National Assembly as Federal Road Safety Commission (establishment) Act 2007.

The functions of the Commission generally relates to making the highway safe for motorists and other road users, recommending works and devices designed to eliminate or minimize accidents on the highways and advising the Federal and State Governments including the Federal Capital Territory Administration and relevant governmental agencies on the localities where such works and devices are required, and educating motorists and members of the public on the importance of discipline on the highway.

How To Get Driver License in Nigeria:

Obtaining a Licence for the first time in Nigeria requires following the steps below;

1. Attend training at an accredited driving school.

2. The driving school will then present you to the to Vehicle Inspection Officer (VIO) for a driving test.

3. Pass the driving test and obtain a certificate of proficiency from the VIO.

4. Complete the driver’s licence application form at the Driver’s Licence Centre (DLC).

5. Pay the licence fee online or at the Bank.

6. Present your application form to the Board of Internal Revenue (BIR) Officer and VIO at the DLC for endorsement.

7. Proceed to the FRSC Officer at the DLC for biometric data capture.

8. Obtain a temporary driver’s licence valid for 60 days.

9. Pick up original driver’s licence at the BIR Office after 60 days.

To renew your National driving licence, you can visit the following link to apply;

These are the 10 classes of Nigeria driver’s license:

Class A – Motor cycle.

Class B – Motor vehicle of less than 3 tonnes gross weight other than motor cycle, taxi, stage carriage or omnibus. “Omnibus” means any motor vehicle that carries more than six persons excluding the driver while “Stage carriage” is an omnibus used for hire or cab in which a fee is charged.

Class C – A motor vehicle of less than 3 tonnes gross weight, other than motor cycle.

Class D – Motor vehicle other than motor cycle, taxi, stage carriage, an articulated vehicle or vehicle drawing a trailer.

Class E – Motor vehicle other than a motor cycle or articulated vehicle.

Class F – Agricultural machines and tractors.

Class G – Articulated vehicles.

Class H – Earth moving vehicles.

Class J – Special, for physically challenged persons.

Class V – Convoy driving (persons engaged in driving senior government or political office holders in stream driving).

You can apply online at or in person at a Driver’s Licence Centre (DLC).


In exercising their duties, members of the FRSC shall have power to arrest and prosecute persons reasonably suspected of having committed any traffic offence.
1 comment:
Write Comments
  1. Very nice write-up. I certainly appreciate this site. Keep